Kale and Kiwi

 

kale and kiwi

Winter has entered my heart

though I look out on a sea of faces,

each one unique and beautiful.

Salt enters my wound.

Filled with inflammation

and tumors and stones,

tears streaming down,

I drive.

I see a man in a skull cap collecting garbage

across the street from Walmart,

though he’s probably never shopped there himself.

Humans can be selfless and beautiful,

can stuff their faces with kale and kiwi

when their body is rotting.

This is not the end of me.

This is the beginning.

Leave a Reply

